With the impending sale of the Sacramento Kings and subsequent franchise move, Seattle is about to get back into the NBA game.

It won't be the first city to lose an NBA team and land another one later.

Here's a look at those cities fortunate enough to receive a second chance at making basketball work. (Sometimes it still doesn't work -- see San Diego entry below.)

Cities That Regained NBA Franchises Slideshow



The SuperSonics joined the NBA in 1967. Under coach Lenny Wilkens, they won the NBA title in 1979. The franchise moved to Oklahoma City in 2008. Now Seattle gets the transplanted Sacramento Kings with young players such as Tyreke Evans, DeMarcus Cousins and Jimmer Fredette.



The Hornets played in Charlotte from 1988 to 2002, with the glory years featuring stars such as Larry Johnson, Muggsy Bogues and Alonzo Mourning. The Bobcats joined the league in 2004 and have had only one playoff appearance despite Michael Jordan's presence as team owner.


New Orleans

The Jazz joined the NBA as expansion team in 1974 and had the dazzling Pistol Pete Maravich as its showcase until the franchise moved to Utah in 1979. The Hornets moved from Charlotte to New Orleans in 2002. The team had a temporary home in Oklahoma City for two years after Hurricane Katrina.



With George Mikan as their center, the Minneapolis Lakers were the NBA's first dynasty with five league titles in six seasons. The team moved to Los Angeles in 1960. The NBA didn't return until 1989 when the Timberwolves started playing as an expansion team.


San Diego

The Rockets joined the NBA as an expansion team in 1967 and played four seasons in San Diego before moving to Houston. Pat Riley and Elvin Hayes were among San Diego's notable stars. San Diego got back in the NBA game in 1978 when the Buffalo Braves moved. Bill Walton and World B. Free played for the San Diego Clippers, who then moved to Los Angeles in 1984.



The Warriors are an original NBA franchise and played in Philadelphia from 1946 to 1962, the year Wilt Chamberlain had his 100-point game. The team then moved to San Francisco. Philadelphia didn't have to wait too long for a new team as the Syracuse Nationals moved there in 1963 and became the 76ers.



The Hawks, featuring Hall of Fame forward Bob Pettit, played just four seasons in Milwaukee before moving to St. Louis in 1955. The Hawks won the NBA title three seasons later. The NBA came back in 1968 with the Bucks as an expansion team. With Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Oscar Robertson, the Bucks reached the NBA Finals twice and won the title in 1971.



The Bulls are Chicago's third NBA team. The Stags lasted just four years, folding in 1950. The Zephyrs played just two seasons in Chicago before moving to Baltimore in 1963 and becoming the Bullets. The Bulls joined the league as an expansion team in 1966.

previous next