Getty Manning Newton

Even if you don't know the difference between the zone blitz and ozone depletion, here is knowledge that will help you impress when you hit a Super Bowl party this year. Trot out these 10 facts, and you'll be good to go.

-- This will be the fifth Super Bowl with starting quarterbacks from the same college conference as Peyton Manning (Tennessee) and Cam Newton (Auburn) played in the SEC. Here are the other four occasions:

Super Bowl XI: SEC
Ken Stabler, Raiders: Alabama
Fran Tarkenton, Vikings: Georgia

Wilson Brady

Super Bowl XXXIII: Pac-10
John Elway, Broncos: Stanford
Chris Chandler, Falcons: Washington

Super Bowl XLI: SEC
Peyton Manning, Colts: Tennessee
Rex Grossman, Bears: Florida

Super Bowl XLIX: Big Ten
Tom Brady, Patriots: Michigan
Russell Wilson, Seahawks: Wisconsin

Additional note on this: As they say on Wall Street, past performance is no guarantee of future results, but on the previous four occasions, the AFC team won each time.

-- The college with the most alums in this year's Super Bowl is Ohio State with five: Defensive back Bradley Roby is the lone Buckeye for Denver while the Panthers have guard Andrew Norwell, safety Kurt Coleman, receiver Philly Brown and receiver/returner Ted Ginn Jr.

Denver's third-round pick from 2015, tight end, Jeff Heuerman, is also from Ohio State but has been on injured reserve all season while recovering from a knee injury.

-- Cam Newton can become the third black quarterback to lead his team to a Super Bowl championship. The other two are Doug Williams and Russell Wilson. What else do Williams and Wilson have in common? Their teams crushed Denver in the Super Bowl.

Williams SI Covers

Williams threw for 340 yards and four touchdowns in a 42-10 win against the Broncos in Super Bowl XXII. Wilson completed 18 of 25 passes for 206 yards and two touchdowns in a 43-8 win against the Broncos in Super Bowl XLVIII.

-- Do players get extra money for winning the Super Bowl? Yes, and there is also a nice consolation prize for members of the losing team. Each winning player will collect $102,000, while each losing player gets $51,000.

-- This will be Peyton Manning's fourth Super Bowl appearance, and he has done it with four different coaches: Tony Dungy and Jim Caldwell for the Colts, and John Fox and Gary Kubiak for the Broncos.

-- John Fox, now with the Bears, is the coach who brought the Broncos and Panthers to their previous Super Bowl appearance. The Panthers lost to the Patriots in Super Bowl XXXVIII, and the Broncos lost to the Seahawks in Super Bowl XLVIII.

-- Just four players have won the Heisman Trophy and Super Bowl MVP award. Panthers quarterback Cam Newton, who won the Heisman at Auburn, has a shot at becoming the fifth. The others: Roger Staubach (Navy/Cowboys), Jim Plunkett (Stanford/Raiders), Marcus Allen (USC/Raiders) and Desmond Howard (Michigan/Packers).

-- Gary Kubiak is the first man to go to the Super Bowl with the same team as a player and a head coach. Kubiak was John Elway's backup in the late 80s when the Broncos made it to the Super Bowl three times in four seasons, losing to the Giants, Redskins and 49ers. This is his first season as Denver's head coach.

-- Kubiak can become the third former NFL quarterback to win a Super Bowl as head coach. Sean Payton and Tom Flores, who did it twice with the Raiders, are the others.

-- So where is next year's Super Bowl? Houston will host on February 5, 2017.

Trending Story: Chewbacca? Boba Fett? Broncos, Panthers Talk 'Star Wars' Characters

Story continues below