Kirk Herbstreit

Kirk Herbstreit was born August 19, 1969.

Herbstreit joined ESPN's College GameDay show in 1996 and has won two Emmy Awards for his analysis. In 2006, he also began working as the analyst on ABC's Saturday Night Football series and has called several national championship games.

Herbstreit played quarterback at Ohio State. As a senior in 1992, he was named team MVP after helping the Buckeyes finish second to Michigan in the Big Ten. Ohio State finished No. 18 in the AP poll at 8–3–1 after a loss to Georgia in the Citrus Bowl.

Here's a look at Herbstreit reeling off a long touchdown run against Minnesota:

Check out more famous birthday sports history in Throwback on ThePostGame.

Big Ten Heisman Trophy Winners

Story continues below