July 7, 2013: Andy Murray defeats Novak Djokovic 6-4, 7-5, 6-4 to become the first British man since Fred Perry (1936) to win the Wimbledon title.

On their path to the final, both Murray and Djokovic won their first four matches in straight sets. In the semifinals, Djokovic defeated Juan Martín del Potro in the round's longest match ever, lasting just under five hours. Murray defeated Jerzy Janowicz in four sets, setting up the fourth Grand Slam final between him and Djokovic. In the previous three, Djokovic had won twice.

After winning the first two sets, Murray jumped out to a commanding 2-0 lead in the third. Djokovic then rallied to go ahead 4-2. With the momentum appearing to shift against Murray's favor, he was able break Djokovic twice, taking a 5-4 lead.

With a great chance to finally bring the Wimbledon title back home, Djokovic was able to fend off three championship points, before finally conceding on Murray's fourth try.

Check out more intriguing moments of sports history in Throwback on ThePostGame.