After what can only be described as a "drought decade," a 10 year run from 1990 to 2000 in which which only two Boston teams made the championships of their respective leagues, Beantown's four pro teams rewarded their fans with a decade of dominance in the 2000s. From 2000 to 2011, Boston teams won seven championships, with at least one coming in each sport.

As the Bruins, winners of Boston's most recent championship in 2011, prepare to take on the Chicago Blackhawks in the Stanley Cup, we look back at what Sports Illustrated dubbed the "Grand Slam of North American sports."

A Look Back At Boston's Decade Of Dominance Slideshow


Patriots, 2001-2002

New England kicks off the Grand Slam with a surprise victory over the St. Louis Rams (aka the Greatest Show on Turf) in the Super Bowl. Second-year quarterback Tom Brady is named MVP after completing 16 of 27 passes for 145 yards and one touchdown.


Patriots, 2003-2004

New England caps off a dominant regular season with a narrow victory over the Panthers in the Super Bowl. Brady earns his second Super Bowl MVP award after tallying 32 completions (a Super Bowl record) for 354 yards and three touchdowns.


Red Sox, 2004

Boston ends its World Series drought in style, sweeping the St. Louis Cardinals after an epic ALCS comeback victory over the New York Yankees. The Cardinals never lead any game at any point in the series. Slugger Manny Ramirez earns MVP honors.


Patriots, 2004-2005

New England holds off a late Philadelphia surge for its third title in four years. Wide receiver Deion Branch, who catches 11 passes for 133 yards, is named MVP.


Red Sox, 2007

It doesn't take Boston long to return to the pinnacle of Major League Baseball. On the strength of its excellent hitting -- the Red Sox tallu 29 runs in four games -- Boston sweeps the Colorado Rockies. Mike Lowell takes home MVP honors.


Celtics, 2007-2008

In a renewal of the premier rivalry in the NBA, the Celtics' newly formed "Big 3" hold off Kobe Bryant and the Los Angeles Lakers. Paul Pierce, who averages 19.7 points and five rebounds in the playoffs, is named MVP.


Bruins, 2010-2011

On the strength of some excellent goalkeeping by Tim Thomas, who allows one goal or less in all but two games, the Bruins won an epic, seven-game series against Vancouver in the Stanley Cup Final. Thomas is named MVP for Boston, which wins the Stanley Cup for the first time since 1972.

previous next