There is no real shame in this list, because to be on it, you needed to have been national champions in the first place.

But it is rare for a team to go from NCAA champions one season and missing the tournament completely the next.

Since the tournament expanded to 64 teams in 1985, it has happened just five times with the Kentucky Wildcats joining the club this year.

Here's a look at the teams to experience this high-low swing:

Story continues below