With March already upon is, there's no better time to look back at the best NCAA tournament performances of the past few decades.

Earlier this week Steve Kerr spoke with ThePostGame, and we asked him to name the top players in NCAA Tournament history. With that being an extremely difficult task, we lessened Kerr's burden by dividing the postseason into two eras: pre-shot clock (before the 1985-86 season) and since.

Kerr starred at Arizona at the beginning of the shot clock era, so here are the four shot-clock era players he'd want as teammates.

For Kerr's pre-shot clock list, see here.

Steve Kerr's Shot-Clock Era NCAA Top Four Slideshow


Christian Laettner, Duke

Laettner's name evokes some powerful memories for college basketball fans. He was named the Most Outstanding Player of the 1991 Final Four, and then the next year his game-winning shot against Kentucky helped the Blue Devils advance to a second consecutive Final Four.


Danny Manning, Kansas

Manning willed the underdog Jayhawks to the 1988 NCAA title, putting up 31 points, 18 rebounds, 5 steals and 2 blocks against Oklahoma in the championship game. He was the easy choice for Most Outstanding Player of that year's Final Four.


Bobby Hurley, Duke

Hurley had a legendary career at Duke, winning two national championships and earning Final Four Most Outstanding Player honors in 1992.


Larry Johnson, UNLV

Johnson and the Runnin' Rebels made the Final Four in both of his years with the team. In the 1990 championship game against Duke, Johnson tallied 22 points and 11 rebounds.

previous next

Kerr has been serving on a panel which recently selected the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Allstate NABC Good Works Team. For more information about the squad and its honorees, see here.