Days after recording the best result of his career at one of golf's four masters, Cameron Tringale self-reported a violation that disqualified him from the PGA Championship and eliminated his T-33 finish.

Tringale, a 26-year-old who played collegiately at Georgia Tech, said he failed to record a stroke on the 11th hole of his round on Sunday at Valhalla Golf Club. Several days after the tournament concluded, Tringale reported the violation to the PGA and was subsequently disqualified.

"On Sunday, I signed for a bogey 4 on the par-3 11th hole," Tringale said in a statement. "While approaching the hole to tap in my three-inch bogey putt, the putter swung over the ball prior to tapping in. Realizing that there could be the slightest doubt that the swing over the ball should have been recorded as a stroke, I spoke with the PGA of America and shared with them my conclusion that the stroke should have been recorded. I regret any inconvenience this has caused the PGA of America and my fellow competitors in what was a wonderful championship."

According to Rule 34.1b (III), the penalty for failing to record a stroke is disqualification. That means Tringale must forfeit the $53,000 he won and the 37 FedEx Cup points he was awarded. That dropped him to No. 61 in the FedEx Cup race standings.

The final U.S. Ryder Cup team standings were not affected by Tringale's disqualification.

Tringale, who is in his fifth year on the PGA Tour, is still having a strong year. He's made 21 cuts, earned $1.3 million and jumped to a 107th place ranking in the world.

"We are very appreciative of Cameron coming forward to inform us of this situation," said Kerry Haigh, PGA chief championships officer. "It yet again shows the great values and traditions of the game and the honesty and integrity of its competitors.”

Related Story: How Trustworthy Is Your Golf Partner?

Like us on facebook, follow us on twitter, and subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Inside L.A.'s New Jordan Hangar